The author and illustrator Wolf Erlbruch has received the e.o. plauen-Award 2014. The jury describes Wolf Erlbruch as “a marvel of illustration”. His style is “distinctive, despite him using diverse techniques such as drawing, collage, painting and assemblage”. But it is thanks to his abundance of expression and ideas, from which he has developed a unique graphic thumbprint that has been copied, but never accomplished by anyone else.

The previous award winners are F.K. Waechter, Paul Flora, Robert Gernhardt, Tomi Ungerer, Jean-Jacques Sempé and Ivan Steiger. The prize is awarded every three years.

For a list of all of Wolf Erlbruch’s books, please click here.