Leipzig Reading Compass

Leipziger Lesekompass LLK15_siegel.indd

This yearly prize is awarded by the Leipzig Book Fair and Stiftung Lesen [Reading Trust]. The winners are selected from all new books that were published in Germany within the last twelve months running up to each Leipzig book Fair. In 2014, the winners were selected from around 8,000 new publications!

The Leipzig Reading Compass selects titles that combine reading fun with creative approaches to promote reading and reading skills.  The award is intended to give parents and educationalists guidance and orientation and to motivate children and young adults to read.

The prize is awarded to ten books from each of these three categories:

  • books for children aged 2 – 6 years
  • books for children aged 6 – 10 years
  • books for children aged 10 – 14 years

The jury is made up of independent professionals from kindergartens, schools, libraries, bookshops and readers (children) and bloggers.

The Pied Piper Literature Award

Rattenfänger Literaturpreis rattenfanger-literaturpreis

The Pied Pieper Literature Award is awarded by the town of Hamelin and is worth 5,000 Euros. It was first awarded in 1984 when Hamelin celebrated ‘700 years of the Pied Pieper of Hamelin’. The prize is awarded once every two years and honors authors and illustrators of children’s fairy tales, modern tales, fanciful narratives and narratives set in the Middle Ages.

The jury is made up of literary scholars, librarians, booksellers and other renowned people that dedicate themselves to children’s literature.

German Children’s Literature Award

Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreisdjlp

The German Children’s Literature Award (Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis) is Germany’s only state-sponsored prize for works of fiction. It has been awarded annually since 1956 by a jury of literature specialists and critics in four categories: picture book, children’s book, young adult book and non-fiction. In addition, since 2003 an independent young adult jury gives its own award. Each category carries a value of 10,000 Euro.

Furthermore, a special annual award for lifetime achievement is given alternately to a German author, German illustrator or German translator. This award, which is also financed by the Federal Ministry, is set at 12,000 Euro.

The prize announcement and ceremony for all these awards takes place in October at the Frankfurt Book Fair. The Arbeitskreis für Jugendliteratur is responsible for awarding the prize.

Visit http://www.djlp.jugendliteratur.org/ for further information.

Children’s Book Prize NRW

Kinderbuchpreis NRW kinderbuchpreis-nrw

Suspense-packed and well narrated books for children that are beginning to read are a keystone for the successful promotion of literacy and reading skills. The German state of North Rhine-Westfalia has been awarding this annual children’s book award which comes with 5,000 Euros as prize money for particularly outstanding children’s fiction titles aimed at first readers since 1989.



White Ravens

Each year the language specialists at the International Youth Library (IYL), in Munich, white-ravens_logo_englGermany, select newly published books  from around the world that they consider to be especially noteworthy. This list of books is compiled into the annual White Ravens Catalogue, which is introduced each year at the Bologna (Italy) Children’s Book Fair. The White Ravens Online Catalogue, which includes all titles from 1993 through 2007, was created by ICDL researchers in collaboration with the IYL and is available on the ICDL web site with the permission of the International Youth Library. The White Raven label is given to books that deserve  worldwide attention because of their  universal themes and/or their exceptional and often innovative artistic and literary style  and design. The titles are drawn from the books that the IYL receives as review or donation copies from publishers and organizations around the world. The White Ravens Online Catalogue currently includes 3557 books from 84 countries in 60 languages.



Troisdorf Picture Book Award

Troisdorfer Bilderbuchpreis

The Troisdorf Picture Book Award is the only German prize to specifically award the illustrations of picture books. It thus recognises outstanding achievements in the area of artistic picture book illustation. An independent jury selects the winner from all entries, and in this way offers a diversified view of the current picture book scene in the German language markets. It is awarded every two years.
Amongst the prize winners are:
2017: Antje Damm wins 2nd prize with The Visit
2009: Tobias Krejtschi wins 1st prize with Clever Mama Sambona
2000: Nadia Budde wins 2nd prize with Sad Tiger Toasts Tomatoes